An official website of the United States government.

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Concept Breadcrumbs

Preferred Term:

maturity groups

A classification of some crop varieties, especially soybeans, based on their growth and development. For example, a soybean with maturity group O or OO only needs a short growing season before harvest; whereas, a soybean with maturity group V and VI needs a longer growing season before the plant is completely developed and ready for harvest. There are 13 soybean maturity groups, i.e., OOO, OO, O, I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, and X. Maturity groups are also described in the context of their indeterminate / determinate growth habit.
Concept Schemes:
Broader Concept:
Download this Concept:
RDF/XMLCreated 2006-01-19, last modified 2012-11-30