An official website of the United States government.

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Concept Breadcrumbs

Preferred Term:

inner ear

The essential part of the hearing organ consists of two labyrinthine compartments: the bony labyrinthine and the membranous labyrinth. The bony labyrinth is a complex of three interconnecting cavities or spaces (Cochlea; vestibular labyrinth; and semicircular canals) in the temporal bone. Within the bony labyrinth lies the membranous labyrinth which is a complex of sacs and tubules (cochlear duct; saccule and utricle; and semicircular ducts) forming a continuous space enclosed by epithelium and connective tissue. These spaces are filled with labyrinthine fluids of various compositions.
Concept Schemes:
Broader Concept:
Narrower Concepts:
Entry Terms:
  • labyrinth (inner ear)
Download this Concept:
RDF/XMLCreated 2019-07-17, last modified 2019-11-25